

## De Anza Youth Soccer League

## **Annual General Meeting**

## MINUTES OF

Tuesday, February 24, 2009

#### 1. Call to order

1.1. Meeting called to order by John Plecque at 7:48

#### 2. Roll Call

2.1. DYSL Board Members present 7 present

John Plecque, 1st VP

Art Zimmerman, 2<sup>nd</sup> VP

Michael Vaggione, Treasurer

Andy Feit, Secretary

Kathy Graham, Registrar

Bob Joyce, Dir. Of Coaching

Allen Madanipour, Referee Coordinator

2.2. DYSL Board Members not present

President - OPEN

## 3. Credentials Report

# of Voting Members

(plus Board Members above)\

37, plus 14 recreation teams by proxy

## 4. Introduction of Guests

4.1. NONE present

## 5. Approval of 2008 AGM Minutes

- 5.1. Motion to accept by Mike Vaggioune, 2<sup>nd</sup> by Art Zimmeram
- 5.2. Vote 34 in favor, 0 against, 1 abstained

## 6. Annual Reports

- 6.1. President OPEN
- 6.2. Treasurer (see report) cash at \$110K end of 2008, in line with \$111K end of 2007
- 6.3. 1<sup>st</sup> VP field availability in good shape
- 6.4.  $2^{nd} VP no comments$
- 6.5. Registrar no Comments
- 6.6. Referee Coordinator -- 416 games covered, 3 refs per game. Offered 2 training classes, and joined with SV and W.V in common pool.
- 6.7. Secretary Priority for next year is website improvement
- 6.8. Committees

#### 7. Unfinished Business

7.1. NONE

## 8. Proposals for Changes to Constitution of By-laws

### 8.1. None submitted

#### 9. New Business

9.1. None

#### 10. Election of Board of Directors

## 10.1. Nominations received prior to the AGM:

President – John Plecque (currently 1<sup>st</sup> VP)

1<sup>st</sup> VP – Art Zimmerman (currently 2nd VP)

2<sup>nd</sup> VP – Mike Fujimoto

Treasurer – Mike Vaggione (incumbent)

Registrar – Kathy Graham (incumbent)

Secretary – Andy Feit (incumbent)

Referee Coordinator – Allen Madanipour (incumbent)

Director of Coaching – Bob Joyce (incumbent)

#### 10.2. Nominations from the floor

POSITION	NAME	NOMINATED BY	SECOND
President	John Moore	Jeff Baicher	Terry Hayes
1 <sup>st</sup> VP	Mary Ann Escoba	ar Adrian Fass	Jeff Baicher
2 <sup>nd</sup> VP	Colin Corstophin	e Jeff Baicher	Frank Korr
Dir. Of Coaching	Terry Hays	Jeff Baicher	Rick Bell
Treasurer	Jeff Tonkel	Jeff Baicher	Mike Lubiceck

#### 10.3. Membership vote:

POSITION Votes for: Votes Against: Abstained:

Agreement could not be reached at the meeting on credentials for the 14 recreational teams. The vote was tabled, with the results as indicated in the email in Attachment 1 below, and accepted at the continued meeting in March.

## 11. Committee Chair Appointments

- 11.1. Rules and Revisions
- 11.2. Protest and Appeals
- 11.3. Credentials
- 11.4. Budget
- 11.5. Coach Selection

## 12. Good of the Game

## 13. Adjournment

- 13.1. Meeting temporarily adjourned until next month at 9:41pm
- 13.2. Reconvened on 3/24 at 7:34pm by John Plecque
- 13.3. Unopposed board positions accepted by unanimous vote
- 13.4. AGM Adjourned at 7:40 Motion by Mike Vaggione, 2<sup>nd</sup> by Kathy Graham
- 13.5. Vote: 9 in favor, 0 opposed, 0 abstained

#### **ATTACHMENT 1**

# **DYSL - Results of Annual General Meeting Election**

1 message

kathyg3@comcast.net <kathyg3@comcast.net>

Fri, Mar 20, 2009 at 2:04 PM

To: kathyg3@comcast.net

DYSL Members, Coaches, Players and Families:

Those of you who were able to attend the Annual General Meeting (AGM) in February already know that we were unable to complete the elections due to a question raised on the floor regarding credentials for certain teams and voting procedures, which could not be resolved prior to the meeting end time. Therefore we went into recess to allow discussion regarding the process, with a commitment to update the general membership regarding the potential need for a follow-up meeting.

For those that were not able to make it, here's a snapshot (formal AGM minutes will be made available at a later date):

Additional nominees for 5 of the 8 board positions were made at the meeting, creating a situation where the voting was very close for those positions.

Ballots were provided to all eligible teams according to the credentials process (administered by the league registrar).

The vote for the 5 contested positions was decided by the votes of the 14 recreation teams, represented by a single individual. There was discussion of whether one individual could vote for more than one team, and whether there was precedent for recreation teams voting at all. Review of the constitution / bylaws did not seem to preclude either, however as no credentials committee was appointed following last year's election there was no clear way to resolve this at the meeting in a satisfactory manner.

A motion was made to recess the meeting, and allow current 1st vice president and acting league president John Plecque to meet with Jeff Baicher (representing the Force club which fielded the alternate board slate) and discuss potential solutions. Based on that meeting, a follow-on meeting was held between a subset of the current DYSL board, select Force board members, and representative members of DYSL. At that meeting, one possible approach was raised that would avoid the need to resolve the credentials question (potentially requiring attorneys and dragging the process out through appeals, and ultimately yielding an outcome that some would not be happy with). If some of the nominees were willing to withdraw their candidacy resulting in a single candidate for each board position, the vote held at the AGM could be utilized without a need to reconvene.

Over the last week, I have received withdrawals of nominations from 5 candidates, resulting in the following individuals running unopposed for the DYSL board positions indicated:

President: John Plecque (19 votes)
1st VP: Art Zimmerman (16 votes)
2nd VP: Colin Corstorphine (27 votes)
Treasurer: Michael Vaggione (18 votes)

Secretary: Andy Feit (37 votes)

Dir. of Coaching: Terry Hayes (28 votes) Registrar: Kathy Graham (38 votes)

Referee Coord.: Allen Madanipour (38 votes)

NOTE: vote tally above does NOT include the contested 14 votes -- as league secretary I accept

the vote count above as official

From a process perspective, we will begin next week's board meeting (Tuesday, 3/24 at 7:30) by reopening AGM, and then move for acceptance of the results above, and then adjournment of the meeting. We will then go directly into the regular monthly board meeting with the new board members presiding.

I am pleased that we have reached a result that allows us to move forward with a board that all parties can support -- congratulations to new board members and those with new responsibilities. Thank you to those candidates that withdrew their names in the interest of resolving this conflict quickly and in a way that best allows the league to serve the needs of our soccer community.

Regards,

Andy Feit DYSL Secretary

-----

Kathy Graham, Registrar, De Anza Youth Soccer League